2020 Youth Tour Essay Contest Winners

2020 Youth Tour Essay Contest Winners

2020 Youth Tour Essay Contest Winners Announced

Ozark Border Electric Cooperative’s Youth Tour Essay Contest challenges high school juniors to write an essay for the chance to win one of two all-expenses paid trips to the Rural Electric Youth Tour in Washington, D.C.  The seven-day tour provides an action-filled week, offering students opportunities to learn firsthand what it is like to be involved in politics, leadership positions and community service. 

Two second-place winners receive a trip to Jefferson City for the Cooperative Youth Conference & Leadership Experience (CYCLE).  The three-day program includes nationally known speakers and a day at the state Capitol.  The conference shows students more about electric cooperatives, Missouri government and teaches leadership skills.  Six finalists also receive a cash prize.

This year both Youth Tour and CYCLE trips were cancelled due to Covid-19.  Because the students had already put in the hard work of writing essays, our board of directors chose to honor the top two winners with a $2,500 scholarship and the CYCLE trip winners were given a $250 cash prize. 

The two high school juniors chosen to receive the $2,500 scholarship in lieu of the trip to Washington D.C.: Andrea Arnold - Twin Rivers High School and Lydia Bryant - Campbell High School. The $250 cash prizes for the CYCLE trip winners: Kaden Siebert - Campbell High School and Hope McCollough – Westwood Baptist Academy.  Finalists also earning a cash prize: Kirby Vandover - Westwood Baptist Academy, Macy Hendrix, Blake Belcher, Brody Fennell, Jaden Baggett and McKenzy Green all from Campbell High School.  Congratulations to all of this year’s winners!