2018 Youth Tour Winners

2018 Youth Tour Winners

Local students will represent OBEC in Washington D.C.

Ozark Border Electric Cooperative’s First Annual Youth Tour Essay Contest challenged high school juniors to write an essay describing their passion in order to win a “trip of a lifetime.”

Independent judges scored the essays to determine our winners.  Ten finalists were selected from entries across the OBEC system. Students were competing to win one of two, all-expenses paid trips to the Rural Electric Youth Tour in Washington, D.C., sponsored by the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association. Ozark Border’s winners will join approximately 100 other winners selected by Missouri electric cooperatives and 1,600 delegates from across the nation for an unforgettable week of learning and fun.  Two winners were also selected to attend the Cooperative Youth Conference & Leadership Experience (CYCLE) in Jefferson City, and six contestants earned a cash prize.

“All the essays were impressive and we are honored to be represented by these talented students.”, said Cherie Cook, Member Service Supervisor for Ozark Border. 

The two high school juniors chosen to represent OBEC in Washington D.C. are: Joy Robbins and Jordan Vickery of Westwood Baptist Academy, Poplar Bluff. CYCLE delegates are: Jillian Page of Poplar Bluff High School and Abigail Lawrence of Westwood Baptist Academy, Poplar Bluff.