Electric Cooperative

Owned by those served

October 2020

ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING

August 7, 2020

zark Border Electric Cooperative's Annual Membership Meeting was held on Friday, August 7, 2020 at the cooperative headquarters in Poplar Bluff, Missouri. The drive-thru format resulted in a total of 2,191 members attending the meeting. During the meeting four members were elected to serve on the Board of Directors of the Cooperative. The following were those elected:

- 1. Darrell Atchison Williamsville District 1
- 2. Jim Hover Harviell District 2
- 3. Charles Bunting Poplar Bluff District 3
- 4. Ed Crow Dexter District 4

There are a total of twelve members who serve on the Board and the other eight directors are as follows:

- 1. Jordan Collins Ellsinore District 1
- 2. Dewayne Ligons Ellsinore District 1
- 3. Gary Melton Poplar Bluff District 2
- 4. Judy Lunsford Poplar Bluff District 2
- 5. Bill Crawford Poplar Bluff District 3
- 6. Bill Hager Harviell District 3
- 7. Jeff Holloway Puxico District 4
- 8. Greg Lintz Dexter District 4

At the conclusion of the annual membership meeting, the Board elected the following officers;

> Darrell Atchison, President Judy Lunsford, Vice President Dewayne Ligons, Secretary/Treasurer

Board President, Darrell Atchison reported that Ozark Border Electric Cooperative continues to remain financially strong and at the end of 2019 was providing service to 39,714 consumers and maintaining 6,000 miles of power



Darrell Atchison OBEC Board President

line. The Board President reported that OBEC refunded \$928,000 in capital credits to the Cooperative member/owners in 2019 and another \$1,035,000 in 2020. He reported that the average annual operating expense per consumer still ranks among the lowest in the state, and the ratio of consumers to full-time employees still ranks among the highest. The Coopera-



David Schremp OBEC General Manager

tive continues to operate at a high level of efficiency.

General Manager, David Schremp reported that 2020 has seen a decrease in kWh sales, primarily due to the wet, mild weather conditions. Schremp discussed some of the challenges the cooperative has faced as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic as well as the disastrous storms that hit the system in May, 2020. In addition, he announced the rollout of a new

project called Work Management Systems, that will allow the transmission of information electronically to the workers in the field. He also thanked Jimmy Wrinkle, a long-time employee who had recently retired after 29 years of dedicated service to the cooperative. Schremp expressed his appreciation for the members, the employees, and the Board of Directors. He also stated that although the Cooperative has seen an increase in its operating costs, there would not be a rate increase in 2020.



OZARK BORDER ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ANNUAL MEETING

August 7, 2020











PRIZE



PRIZE WINNERS

NAME ALEXANDER, IVAN E CRITES, JOHN O II DAVIS, MARGARET A. DENNIS ROBISON FARMS, LLC POPLAR BLUFF, MO EDDY, ALBERT L. FARMER, ROBIN D. HALCUMB, CHARLES M. HAMPTON, DONALD SR. HANCOCK, ARVILL M. HEFNER, CHARLES HILL, FRANKIE J. JOHNSON, DONALD L. KNAPP, FRANKIE P. LONE HILL CHURCH MCDONALD, GARY MORRIS, DONA M. ONEAL, CAROLYN PARISH, GARY L. WARD, KEITH WILLIS, BILL

YARBRO, MARKEL A.

TOWN HARVIELL, MO QULIN, MO NEELYVILLE, MO BROSELEY, MO POYNOR, MO POPLAR BLUFF, MO ELLSINORE, MO DONIPHAN, MO POPLAR BLUFF, MO QULIN, MO POPLAR BLUFF, MO GIDEON, MO POPLAR BLUFF, MO POPLAR BLUFF, MO WAPPAPELLO, MO DONIPHAN, MO NEELYVILLE, MO POPLAR BLUFF, MO CAMPBELL, MO POPLAR BLUFF, MO

\$75 BILL CREDIT \$200 BILL CREDIT \$75 BILL CREDIT



